Graduation Party.

Once a year, the faculty throws a massive graduation party for all of our study programmes. Not every former student manages to come back for this event, as some are now working and living at the other side of Germany or even abroad. But there is always a fairly good participation; roughly 75% of our Bachelor alumni and 33% of our Master alumni attend the ceremony. Together with partners, parents and extended family, as well as the teaching staff, this means that the venue is always packed with about 750 people.

I don’t manage to attend every year; sometimes I am just too knackered after a long working week, sometimes private appointments are more important. But this year I went, and it was much better than I expected it to be: First of all, there were loads of students in attendance I had taught in the last years, so I spent several hours catching up with dozens of people. Secondly, I was seated next to one of my favourite colleagues; Marcus and I share a very sarcastic sense of humour and were busy drily commenting the whole graduation ceremony. It took us a while to realise that the students behind us were able to hear us – their suppressed giggling gave them away in the end. I can’t remember everything we said, but I think we did not offend anybody who is in a position to fire us.

Graduation Party.

Leave a Reply

