Summer School.

A colleague of mine had organised an international summer school: 3 weeks of courses related to innovation and entrepreneurship, with 23 students from South America, Europe, and Asia, as well as 19 of my Master students (well, I say “my”…). I only taught on day 1 and 2, as I was leaving for Limerick afterwards and had a bunch of exam supervisions in week 2 and 3.

Nevertheless, I was invited to the farewell dinner which took place at a restaurant right at the lake; after a very hot and humid day, it had rained heavily for 30 minutes just before the dinner, leaving the air crisp and refreshing, but still mild. The students had spent not only the lessons, but also almost every evening together; I am still amazed at how they managed to deliver countless presentations and assignments, considering that they only slept about 3 hours per night. Ah, to be young!

At the lake.

Chatterboxes.

And of course they also wanted to party on their last evening together; my Master students in particular were very keen on getting me to join them, and I might have said yes if it wasn’t for the killer high heels I was wearing – some shoes are just made for sitting, not dancing. So I hugged them goodbye and went home to pack my bag and get my beauty sleep …

… while the students went on to a salsa club and teetered home at about 4 am. As some of them were leaving for a trip to Amsterdam at 9 am (which I am accompanying), this is what the train ride looked like:

Tired bunch.

I have a feeling the rest of the trip won’t be that tranquil and quiet.

Leave a Reply

