Porlock Weir and Lynmouth.

After saying goodbye to Neil and Robert at about lunchtime, I had about 2 hours to kill before heading back to Heathrow. So why not have a look at what Exmoor’s coastline has to offer?
I drove west, along winding mountain roads; as it was a grey and rainy day, there wasn’t much traffic, so flocks of sheep and Exmoor ponies along the road were my main company. Given that there are no fences, I started wondering how many of them actually wander onto the road and get killed. According to the road signs, however, the main danger for sheep seems to be not cars, but lighting.

Nachdem ich mich gegen Mittag von Robert und Neil verabschiedet hatte, hatte ich noch 2 Stunden Zeit, bevor es wieder Richtung Heathrow ging. Also warum nicht mal einen Blick auf die Küste von Exmoor riskieren?
Ich fuhr Richtung Westen, entlang kurvenreicher Bergstraßen; der Tag war grau und regnerisch, von daher gab es nicht viel Verkehr, und Schafherden und Exmoor Ponys waren so ungefähr meine einzige Gesellschaft. Da es an der Strecke so gut wie keine Zäune gibt, habe ich angefangen, mich zu fragen, wie viele von denen wohl auf die Straße wandern und überfahren werden. Wenn man allerdings den Straßenschildern Glauben schenken darf, scheint die Hauptgefahr für Schafe nicht das Auto, sondern Blitzschlag zu sein.

Sheep by lightning.

Porlock Weir.

Lynmouth.

Lynmouth.

Dunster.

Leave a Reply

