A Wedding in Exmoor.

(I know, I know – it wasn’t a wedding, but a civil ceremony. Whatever.)

Neil and Robert celebrated their ceremony all weekend long far away from home, in a lovely little bed and breakfast near Porlock. I flew in on Friday at lunchtime and then drove up to Exmoor (which is really pretty, even at this time of the year). Friday evening brought an informal “meet and greet” for all attendees; it was great to see Neil’s and Robert’s families again, and it still surprises and affects me how welcoming and warm they are towards me. It was also the first time in almost 16 years that I saw Mark again, a colleague of Robert’s; although I only spent two months in their company as an intern, he could still remember me (“You were one of the very few with a bit of a personality!”). He also seemed to be quite amused by the fact that I am even more sarcastic than the average Brit: “Good God, you really picked that up quickly back then, didn’t you?!”

Saturday was the big day: Robert and Neil were married at 1pm, and I am not ashamed to admit that I cried a little (after all, they are two of my closest friends). We had bubbly and canapés at the registry and then went back to the B&B for some cream tea and lounging in front of the fireplace while the children played tag outside (joined by some of the adults, resulting in Neil’s sister Anne falling flat on her face in the mud. Good times.). Dinner was followed by more drinks (which had been flowing steadily from Friday afternoon onwards; given that I don’t really drink, I might have been the most budget-friendly guest, apart from the children) and conversations held in armchairs. It was a low-key, relaxed, warm, funny, cosy, and beautiful reception, fitting the two of them to a T.

Thanks for letting me experience this wonderful weekend with you. I love you very much.

Ringbearer.

Ringbearer close-up.

Sealing the deal.

Watching closely.

Canapés.

Flowers.

Hug.

Rose.

Jord.

Cream Tea.

Playing Tag.

Dinner.

Barkly.

Mum.

Neil und Robert feierten ihre Trauung ein ganzes Wochenende lang, weit weg von zuhause, in einer zauberhaften kleinen Pension in der Nähe von Porlock. Ich flog am Freitag mittag rüber und fuhr dann rauf nach Exmoor (übrigens ein sehr hübscher Landstrich, selbst zu dieser Jahreszeit). Am Freitag abend fand das informelle Kennenlernen für alle Gäste statt; es war toll, die Familien von Neil und Robert wieder zu sehen, und es überrascht und berührt mich immer wieder auf’s Neue, wie einladend und warmherzig alle mir gegenüber sind. Zum ersten Mal nach 16 Jahren habe ich auch Mark wieder gesehen, einen Kollegen von Robert; obwohl ich damals nur ein zweimonatiges Praktikum in der Firma gemacht habe, konnte er sich noch an mich erinnern (“Du warst eine der wenigen mit einer Persönlichkeit!”). Er schien sich auch prächtig darüber zu amüsieren, dass ich noch sarkastischer bin als der Durchschnittsbrite: “Mein Gott, Du hast Dir das damals wirklich schnell angeeignet, oder?!”

Am Samstag war dann der große Tag: Robert und Neil wurden um 13 Uhr vermählt, und ich schäme mich nicht zu zugeben, dass ich ein paar Tränchen verdrückt habe (immerhin sind die beiden zwei meiner engsten Freunde). Es gab Sekt und Canapés im Trauzimmer und danach ging es zurück zur Pension, zu Cream Tea und faulem Rumsitzen vor dem Kamin, während die Kinder draußen Fangen spielten (mit Unterstützung einiger Erwachsener, was dazu führte, dass Neil’s Schwester Anne kopfüber in den Schlamm fiel. Na super.). Nach dem Abendessen wurden weitere Getränke gereicht (seit Freitag nachmittag floss der Alkohol ohne Unterbrechung; wenn man bedenkt, dass ich kaum trinke, dürfte ich der kostengünstigste Gast gewesen sein, mal abgesehen von den Kindern) und Unterhaltungen in tiefen Sesseln geführt. Es war eine ungezwungene, entspannte, herzliche, lustige, gemütliche und wunderbare Hochzeitsfeier, die haargenau zu den beiden gepasst hat.

Danke, dass ich dieses wunderschöne Wochenende mit Euch erleben durfte. Ich habe Euch sehr lieb.

Leave a Reply

