Walk the Talk.

Juliane and I meet about twice a year – whenever she is on holiday, visiting her parents, and hence in the area. I, on the other hand, still have not managed to make it to Mainz, her place of study and work.

We took a walk across the cemetery and along the Lake Aa, talking mainly about her studies and work. Although we are somewhat different characters, she sometimes strikes me as a younger version of myself; when she got worked up about the work ethics of some of her fellow students, I could see myself having a similar reaction 15 years ago (don’t get me wrong: I still get annoyed about colleagues who are unreliable, but I feel that I am picking my battles a bit wiser now). It makes me wonder how Juliane will be like in 10 or 20 years’ time; hopefully I will be there to watch her development in the years to come.

Juliane und ich treffen uns ca. zweimal/Jahr – immer dann, wenn sie Urlaub hat, ihre Eltern besucht, und dadurch in der Gegend ist. Ich dagegen habe es immer noch nicht geschafft, sie in ihrem Studien- und Wohnort Mainz zu besuchen.

Wir schlenderten über den Friedhof und am Aasee entlang und unterhielten uns vorrangig über ihr Studium und ihre Arbeit. Obwohl wir doch unterschiedliche Charaktere sind, kommt sie mir manchmal vor wie eine jüngere Version von mir; als sie sich über die Arbeitseinstellung einiger Kommilitonen aufgeregt hat, hätte das auch meine Reaktion vor 15 Jahren gewesen sein können (nicht, dass wir uns falsch verstehen: Ich bin immer noch genervt von unzuverlässigen Kollegen, aber ich glaube, dass ich mittlerweile etwas abgeklärter bin). Ich frage mich dann immer, wie Juliane wohl in 10 oder 20 Jahren sein wird; hoffentlich werde ich ihre Entwicklung in den nächsten Jahren mitverfolgen dürfen.

Lake Aa.

Leave a Reply

