¡Viva la Navidad!

The idea for the theme of this year’s Christmas Dinner came to me already back in summer, but New York proved to be the perfect hunting ground for decoration items. I had even been thinking about buying a piñata, but the ones I liked were too big for my suitcase; plus, five drunk, blindfolded women running amok with wooden sticks in my living room could have led to awkward questions from my insurance company.

We had tapas and paella and lots of Tequila Sunrise Sangria; Amin fell asleep during the movie, and Detti and I chatted well into the wee small hours. And just like every Christmas Dinner, there is still so much food left in my fridge that I won’t need to cook again until 2016.

Die Idee für das Motto des diesjährigen Weihnachtsessens kam mir bereits im Sommer, aber New York stellte sich als hervorragende Einkaufsquelle für die Deko heraus. Ich hatte sogar darüber nachgedacht, eine Piñata zu kaufen, aber die, die mir gefielen, passten nicht in meinen Koffer. Außerdem hätten fünf betrunkene Damen mit Augenbinden, die in meinem Wohnzimmer mit Holzstöcken Amok laufen, wahrscheinlich zu unangenehmen Fragen seitens meiner Versicherung geführt. 

Wir hatten Tapas und Paella und Unmengen an Tequila Sunrise Sangria; Amin schlief während des Films ein, und Detti und ich quatschten noch bis in die frühen Morgenstunden. Und wie bei jedem Weihnachtsessen habe ich noch so viel Essen im Kühlschrank, dass ich vor 2016 nicht mehr zu kochen brauche.

Viva la navidad.

Tapas.

Mustachio.

Poncho Beer.

Paella.

Leave a Reply

