New York.

They almost did not let me go. German authorities were apparently so keen on keeping me in the country that they singled me out for inspection three individual times, the last time when I was already boarding. In the end, I somehow managed to get on the plane and had a rather uneventful flight to JFK, apart from the fact that I realised again that I find long-distance flights incredibly boring.

US border control, on the other hand, was a walk in the park; I truthfully told the immigration officer that I was attending a conference about terrorism, and we chatted animatedly about counterterrorism measures for about 15 minutes, while the queue behind me got longer and longer. In the end, he even asked whether he could come and watch my presentation, as the topic sounded rather interesting to him.

Yesterday was my first full day in New York, and although it is rainy and foggy, I walked around for 7 hours and took some pictures . As the scenery was a bit grim due to the weather, I decided to mostly go with black and white pictures (because everything looks nicer in b&w). I do apologize for the quality; both my iPhone and my camera are not exactly great with night shots in particular.

I do like New York, but I am not sure I would want to live here. It’s not the size or the architecture; it’s the noise that kills it for me. I have been to other major cities before, but somehow I get the feeling that New Yorkers are not good with silence; apart from the constant noise on the streets and the humming of the air conditioning, the people here are also rather loud in general. It wears you down after a while, which is why I will spend some time today in one of the many parks.

Sie haben mich beinahe nicht gehen gelassen. Die deutschen Behörden waren offenbar so versessen darauf, dass ich im Land bleibe, dass ich dreimal kontrolliert wurde – das letzte Mal, als ich bereits beim Boarding war. Letztendlich habe ich es dann doch irgendwie ins Flugzeug geschafft und hatte einen ereignislosen Flug nach New York, mal abgesehen von der Tatsache, dass ich wieder gemerkt habe, wie unglaublich langweilig Langstreckenflüge sind.

Die Einreisekontrolle auf amerikanischem Boden war dagegen ein Kinderspiel; ich habe dem Grenzbeamten wahrheitsgemäß gesagt, dass ich an einer Konferenz über Terrorismus teilnehme, und wir haben uns 15 Minuten lang angeregt über Maßnahmen zur Terrorismusbekämpfung unterhalten, während die Schlange hinter mir länger und länger wurde. Am Ende fragte er mich sogar, ob er vorbeikommen und sich die Präsentation ansehen könne, da er das Thema sehr interessant fand. 

Gestern war dann mein erster ganzer Tag in New York, und obwohl es regnet und nebelig ist, bin ich 7 Stunden durch die Stadt gelaufen und habe Fotos gemacht. Da die Gegend durch das Wetter etwas düster aussah, habe ich mich meistens für schwarzweiß Fotos entschieden (denn alles sieht besser aus in Schwarzweiß). Ich muss mich allerdings für die Qualität der Bilder entschuldigen; sowohl meine Handykamera als auch die Spiegelreflex sind nicht gerade das Gelbe vom Ei, speziell bei Nachtaufnahmen. 

Ich mag New York, aber ich glaube nicht, dass ich hier leben wollen würde. Dabei geht es gar nicht um die Größe der Stadt oder die Architektur; es ist der Lärm, der mich wahnsinnig macht. Ich war schon in anderen Großstädten, aber irgendwie habe ich das Gefühl, dass New Yorker nicht gut mit Stille umgehen können; abgesehen von dem permanenten Krach auf der Straße und dem Brummen der Klimaanlagen sind die Menschen generell auch eher laut. Nach einer Weile macht einen das etwas mürbe, und darum werde ich heute etwas Zeit in einem der vielen Parks verbringen.

Empire State Building.

Flatiron Building.

Herald Square.

Peace.

Madison Square Park.

Park Avenue South.

1200 Broadway.

Christmas time.

In New York, even the squirrels got attitude: No food, no love.

NY squirrel.

Hudson River Greenway.

Manhattan off Pier 49.

Jersey City Skyline.

5 thoughts on “New York.

  1. Faru 3 December 2015 / 2:12 pm

    Beautiful pictures! You’re an artist! I really really love the way you capture the beautiful and somehow peaceful side of the city that never sleeps. Looks like a place that I’d really like to visit :) Although I know I would instantly hate the noisiness!

    Like

    • Tinka 3 December 2015 / 6:59 pm

      I don’t consider myself an artist, but thank you nonetheless! Next time, I want to explore NY with you… xxx

      Like

  2. silke 3 December 2015 / 5:09 pm

    What Faru said! Enjoy your time ; )

    Like

    • Tinka 3 December 2015 / 7:00 pm

      Thank you, sweetie! (imagine me talking in an American accent…) xxx

      Like

      • silke 3 December 2015 / 8:19 pm

        Hr hr hr

        Like

Leave a Reply

