A Day of Life and Death … and Life again.

The sunshine continues, and it helps to lift my mood which hasn’t been the best in the last couple of weeks. But it’s again London that makes the main difference to my mindset: I take a bus to Highgate Cemetery, and on the way disembark at a random station because I notice people. Just people, on a Sunday morning, doing their thing, enjoying the sunshine. I like these moments of serendipities, of walking through the city and watching people living their lives; I often look at them and wonder what’s going on in their life, what their interests, skills, thoughts, and fears are.

Der Sonnenschein hält an, und mit ihm meine gute Laune, die in den letzten Wochen nicht unbedingt die beste war. Aber es ist erneut London, das mich dazu bringt, eine andere Mentalität anzunehmen: Ich nehme den Bus zum Friedhof Highgate, und auf dem Weg steige ich an irgendeiner Station aus, weil mir Menschen auffallen. Einfach Menschen, an einem Sonntag morgen, die ihr Ding machen, die Sonne genießen. Ich mag diese Momente zufälliger Entdeckungen, das Schlendern durch die Stadt und das Beobachten von Menschen, die ihr Leben leben; ich schaue ihnen zu und frage mich, was in ihrem Leben vorgeht, was ihre Interessen, Fähigkeiten, Gedanken und Ängste sind.

Breakfast in Highbury

Gardening Work.

Enjoying the sun.

Contemplating the next move.

But finally, I was off to Waterlow Park … // Aber dann ging es doch weiter Richtung Waterlow Park …

Waterlow Park.

Party in the Park.

Stony Eagle.

Bored.

… and then to Highgate Cemetery. // … und schließlich zum Friedhof Highgate.

Embrace.

Redgrave.

Angel.

Stoney.

Near...

Clematis.

... and beyond.

Silence.

Feathery Friend.

Looking after.

To stay in the spirit, I then ventured on to see the Forensics exhibition at the Wellcome Collection. It was quite good, but I already knew most of the stuff (yes, I would know how to kill you and dispose of your body without a trace).

Da ich mich ohnehin schon den halben Tag mit dem Thema Tod beschäftigt hatte, bin ich dann direkt weiter zu einer Ausstellung zum Thema Forensik. Die Ausstellung war auch ganz gut, allerdings habe ich das Meiste bereits gewusst (ja, ich weiß, wie man jemanden umbringt und die Leiche ohne Spuren verschwinden lässt).

Crime Scene.

Autopsy.

Much to my delight, Hulya was up for some nibbles and wine in Clapham Common, so the rest of the day was spent celebrating life – as you should.

Zu meiner großen Freude hatte Hulya Lust auf Snacks und Wein im Clapham-Park, von daher haben wir am Abend dann noch mal das Leben gefeiert – und das sollte man ja auch.

Nibbles in Clapham.

Hulya.

Leave a Reply

