Hello again.

So I am back. In my city. Well, technically it’s not mine (I think Boris would like to have a word about that), but then again, it is. There is no other place which can evoke this sense of belonging and connectedness with me, not even Sydney (and I loved Sydney).

I arrived in the late afternoon and decided to put the sunshine to good use by strolling down to Westminster and take some pictures. It wasn’t really about the pictures, though: It was about breathing in the slightly musty odour of the Thames, hearing the siren’s wailing of the ambulances in the background and the chatter of many different tongues close by, feeling the draught of the tube when entering the station, seeing the silhouette of Big Ben reflected on Westminster Bridge.

Home.

Ich bin zurück. In meiner Stadt. Rein rechtlich gesehen mag sie zwar nicht meine Stadt sein (ich glaube, der Bürgermeister würde da ganz gerne noch ein Wörtchen mitreden), aber andererseits ist sie es doch irgendwie. Es gibt keinen anderen Ort, der in mir dieses Gefühl von Zugehörigkeit und Verbundenheit hervorrufen kann, nicht einmal Sydney (und ich habe Sydney geliebt). 

Ich kam am späten Nachmittag an und entschloss mich, den Sonnenschein auszunutzen, um zur Themse zu spazieren und ein paar Fotos zu schießen. Es ging allerdings nicht wirklich um die Fotos: Es ging um den leicht modrigen Geruch der Themse, um das Sirenengeheul der Krankenwagen in der Ferne und das Geplapper vieler verschiedener Sprachen nah bei, um das Gefühl der Zugluft, wenn man die U-Bahn-Station betritt, um den Schattenriss von Big Ben auf der Westminster-Brücke. 

Zuhause.

HoP.

Churchill and Big Ben.

HoP and Westminster Abbey.

HoP Courtyard.

On Westminster Bridge.

Leave a Reply

