Streatham Cemetery.

One of the many, many bizarre things about me is my affection for cemeteries, especially the ones on the British Isles. I am not sure whether it’s out of historical interest or due to my general fascination with death, but I can spend hours inspecting old gravestones and inscriptions. However, I am pretty sure German cemetery administration would have a stroke at the sight of tumbling headstones and decaying gravesites…

Eine der vielen, vielen bizarren Dinge über mich ist meine Liebe zu Friedhöfen, besonders zu denen auf den Britischen Inseln. Ich bin mir nicht sicher, ob es am historischen Interesse oder an meiner generellen Faszination mit dem Tod liegt, aber ich kann Stunden damit verbringen, alte Grabsteine und Inschriften anzuschauen. Ich bin mir allerdings ziemlich sicher, dass deutsche Friedhofsverwaltungen beim Anblick von bröckelnden Grabsteinen und verfallenen Grabstätten einen Schlaganfall kriegen würden…

Don't blink.

Salvation.

My beloved wife.

Sunken.

Weeping.

Tumbling.

Drowned off Brighton.

Despatch Rider.

Johnnie.

3 thoughts on “Streatham Cemetery.

  1. maturin 5 May 2015 / 11:30 pm

    When I first moved to London, I was a tour guide in Highgate Cemetery. I absolutely agree with you. There is a magic in these places.

    Like

    • Tinka 6 May 2015 / 6:52 pm

      Highgate Cemetery is actually my photography project for June – I might ask you for some advice when it comes to finding the best spots…

      Like

  2. maturin 13 May 2015 / 12:42 am

    I would gladly take you round. And possibly a pub or two.

    Like

Leave a Reply

