Last Night of the Tandoori.

Silke and I met at an Indian restaurant yesterday for a ladies’ night (and to redeem a voucher I was given by one of my classes). It took me less than 30 minutes to splatter mixed pickles all down my shirt – I truly am my father’s daughter. The food was yummy and rich: When we left two hours later, we basically staggered out of the locality, completely stuffed.

I had managed to convince Silke to watch “The Last Night of the Proms” with me at The James which was decorated true to style. I had booked a table in advance, much to Silke’s amusement because she thought the place would be virtually empty. Oh, was she wrong – The James was packed to the rafters, and as we were a tad late, we took the last available seats at a table with four other ladies our age. Luckily for me (but to Silke’s horror), these ladies were as much into singing along to “Jerusalem” and “Land of Hope and Glory” as I was. Belting out the standards also made me rather emotional again, but maybe my tears were down to the German subtitles which were apparently composed by a drunken monkey.

The girls and us got along so well that we decided to move on to another bar when we were finally kicked out at 1.30am. We continued to the Atelier Bar for another round of drinks, some small talk, and discussions about love, sex, and marriage. I was home at 4.30 after an extensive night of eating, drinking, singing and laughing – what more can you ask for?

Silke und ich trafen uns gestern in einem indischen Restaurant für einen Mädelsabend (und um einen Gutschein einzulösen, den ich von einem meiner Kurse geschenkt bekommen hatte). Es dauerte keine 30 Minuten, da hatte ich mein Shirt mit eingelegtem Gemüse dekoriert – ich bin eindeutig meines Vater’s Tochter. Das Essen war lecker und reichhaltig: Als wir zwei Stunden später die Lokalität verließen, schwankten wir vor lauter Völlegefühl.

Ich hatte es geschafft, Silke dazu zu überreden, mit mir “The Last Night of the Proms” im The James anzuschauen, das dementsprechend dekoriert war. Ich hatte einen Tisch vorbestellt, sehr zu Silke’s Erheiterung, die davon ausging, dass das Lokal faktisch leer sein würde. Da lag aber jemand gewaltig daneben – The James war vollgepackt, und da wir etwas zu spät waren, sicherten wir uns schnell die letzten freien Plätze an einem Tisch mit vier Frauen in unserem Alter. Sehr zu meiner Begeisterung (und Silke’s Verzweiflung) waren die Damen genauso scharf darauf wie ich, “Jerusalem” und “Land of Hope and Glory” mitzusingen. Das Mitgröhlen der Klassiker sorgte auch dafür, dass ich mal wieder etwas emotional wurde, aber vielleicht lagen meine Tränen auch an den deutschen Untertiteln, die offenbar von einem angeschickerten Schimpansen verfasst wurden.

Die Mädels und wir hatten soviel Spaß miteinander, dass wir uns dafür entschieden, direkt weiterzuziehen, als wir um 1.30 Uhr schließlich rausgeschmissen wurden. Wir gingen weiter zur Atelier Bar für eine weitere Runde, etwas Small Talk, und Diskussionen über Liebe, Sex und die Ehe. Ich war um 4.30 Uhr zuhause, nach einer ausgedehnten Nacht voller Essen, Trinken, Gesang und Gelächter – was will man mehr?

8 thoughts on “Last Night of the Tandoori.

  1. silke 13 September 2012 / 1:49 pm

    What happens in the barn, stays in the barn! xxx

    Like

    • Tinka 13 September 2012 / 8:02 pm

      And thank God for that! xxx

      Like

  2. Liv 16 September 2012 / 1:10 am

    I wish I was in the barn!

    Like

    • Tinka 16 September 2012 / 1:38 am

      Are you sure about this?! ;o)

      Like

Leave a Reply

