Melancholy.

I haven’t been very talkative in the past two weeks – not only online, but also in real life. Although I met with some former students for a drink, had brunch with Stefan and an entertaining afternoon with Juliane, I spent the vast majority of my time holed up at home, surfing the net and curling up on the couch. I couldn’t handle facing the world, to be honest.

I have these mood swings about every twelve to eighteen months, and by now I am more or less used to them. I wouldn’t call it a depression as I have been there and my current mood is not nearly as bad, but it nevertheless hits me hard: The tears are flowing very easily, and my motivation to go outside and/or get things done is below zero. The Olympic coverage with all these glorious shots of a summery London and ecstatic Brits celebrating Team GB did not help to lessen my sadness. I cried basically throughout the Opening Ceremony and at all gold medals the Brits won as my longing for this country is slowly reaching worrying levels.

During these moods, I generally regress into a hermit-like state, think way too much, and refuse to even pick up the phone (the internet was basically invented for me). But it always gets better after some time, and I have the feeling that my spirits are already on the rise. For now, I will leave you with some photos I took in the past two weeks, but I will talk to you soon. Promised.

Ich war in den letzten Wochen nicht sehr gesprächig – nicht nur online, sondern auch im realen Leben. Obwohl ich mit ein paar ehemaligen Teilnehmern einen Stammtisch-Abend hatte, mit Stefan zum Brunch verabredet war, und einen unterhaltsamen Nachmittag mit Juliane verbrachte, habe ich mich den Großteil meiner Zeit zuhause versteckt, im Internet gesurft und auf dem Sofa gelegen. Ich war, ehrlich gesagt, mit der Welt etwas überfordert.

Ich habe diese Stimmungsschwankungen alle zwölf bis achtzehn Monate, und mittlerweile habe ich mich mehr oder weniger daran gewöhnt. Ich würde sie nicht als Depression bezeichnen, weil ich die schon mal hatte, und meine aktuelle Stimmung ist bei weitem nicht so schlimm wie damals, aber trotzdem nimmt mich das immer ziemlich mit: Die Tränen laufen sehr schnell, und meine Motivation, nach draußen zu gehen und/oder Dinge zu erledigen, liegt unter Null. Die Übertragung der Olympiade mit all den fantastischen Aufnahmen des sommerlichen Londons und den ekstatischen Briten, die ihr Team gefeiert haben, hat nicht gerade geholfen, meine Traurigkeit einzudämmen. Ich habe faktisch während der gesamten Eröffnungsfeier sowie bei allen britischen Goldmedaillen geweint, weil meine Sehnsucht nach diesem Land langsam schon bedenkliche Ausmaße annimmt. 

Während dieser Stimmung werde ich geradezu zum Einsiedler, denke viel zu viel nach, und weigere mich sogar, ans Telefon zu gehen (das Internet wurde praktisch nur für mich erfunden). Aber nach einiger Zeit wird meine Stimmung auch immer wieder besser, und habe das Gefühl, dass ich bereits auf dem aufsteigendem Ast bin. Für heute lasse ich Euch mit ein paar Fotos allein, die ich in den vergangenen zwei Wochen geschossen habe, aber ich spreche bald wieder mit Euch. Versprochen. 


2 thoughts on “Melancholy.

  1. eatingthepages 18 August 2012 / 4:47 am

    These are some beautiful photos, Tinka–I see the rare German sun is shining. I’m sorry to read about your mood swing, although I am glad to read you are getting better. There just has to be a German word for this feeling! If not, I think it will be your next task to combine a few words and make one long German word to define your feeling. Deal? :-) Until then, I will not commiserate in any shadenfreude, but will only wish you viel Glück mit ihra Stimmung!

    Like

    • Tinka 18 August 2012 / 3:42 pm

      Thank you for your kind words, and yes, I am feeling better now. The feeling I had, especially when it comes to Great Britain, can probably best be described in the German word “wehmütig” which means “your mind and soul are hurting” – the translation “wistful” doesn’t do it justice, to be honest. My friend Liv has described this so much better in this entry: http://a-biglife.com/2012/06/18/wehmutig/

      So there you go – there is a German word, but it’s hard to convey its meaning into English (just like the German word “Heimat”, which means so much more than just “home”). Thanks again for being you! :o)

      Like

Leave a Reply

