The Mind as Matter.

Sunday started off with a gloomy sky and hyperventilating tourists who couldn’t wait to go down to the Thames to watch the Diamond Jubilee Pageant. I was wise enough to stay clear of anything remotely Jubilee related as I not only can’t stand crowds, but also couldn’t be bothered with the whole festivities (sorry, Lizzy – it’s nothing personal).

My first stop was the Wellcome Collection near Euston which had a fascinating exhibition about the human brain on display. With most Londoners at home and most tourists getting rained on at the Thames, the gallery was quiet, peaceful and almost empty – just as I like it. After a quick break to write the inevitable postcards to a few selected people, I trudged on to Trafalgar Square for one last coffee resp. hot chocolate with the boys and girls before heading to the airport. Although the weather was still rather forgettable, the amount of people on the streets was staggering: We were lucky enough to secure a table for the six of us in a nearby café while the madness outside was growing by the minute.

When it was time to leave, I wished the others goodbye and headed to Charing Cross, only to be told that it was closed due to the masses and that I needed to walk to Leicester Square. Grudgingly, I pushed my way through the tidal wave of people and was fairly relieved when I finally came to rest on the tube. As much as I love London and its people – the tourists will never cease to drive me crazy.

Der Sonntag startete mit düsterem Wetter und hyperventilierenden Touristen, die es nicht erwarten konnten, an die Themse zu kommen, um sich dort den Bootskorso zu Ehren der Queen anzugucken. Ich war clever genug, mich von allen Dingen fernzuhalten, die auch nur entfernt etwas mit dem Jubiläum zu tun hatten, da ich Menschenmassen ohnehin nicht ausstehen kann und mir die Feierlichkeiten generell herzlich egal waren (Sorry, Lizzy – ist nicht persönlich gemeint). 

Mein erster Halt war die Wellcome Collection, die eine faszinierende Ausstellung zum menschlichen Gehirn gezeigt hat. Da die meisten Londoner zuhause waren und sich die Touristen an der Themse durchregnen ließen, war die Galerie ruhig, friedlich und fast leer – genauso wie ich es mag. Nach einer kleinen Pause, um ein paar auserwählten Leuten die unvermeidlichen Postkarten zu schreiben, stapfte ich zum Trafalgar Square, um mit den Jungs und Mädels noch einen letzten Kaffee / eine letzte heiße Schokolade zu trinken, bevor es zum Flughafen ging. Obwohl das Wetter eher zum Davonlaufen war, war die Anzahl an Leuten auf den Straßen erstaunlich: Wir hatten Glück, dass wir für uns sechs einen Tisch in einem nahe gelegenen Café sichern konnten, während um uns herum der Wahnsinn erschreckende Ausmaße annahm. 

Als es Zeit war, zu gehen, verabschiedete ich mich von den Anderen und ging zum Charing Cross, nur um dort gesagt zu bekommen, dass die Station auf Grund der Massen geschlossen war und ich zum Leicester Square gehen müsse. Also kämpfte ich mich widerwillig durch die Flut an Menschen und war relativ erleichtert, als ich endlich in der U-Bahn zur Ruhe kam. So sehr ich London und seine Einwohner auch liebe – die Touristen schaffen es immer wieder, mich in den Wahnsinn zu treiben.

Exhibition - Brains: The Mind As Matter (1)

Exhibition - Brains: The Mind As Matter (2)

Exhibition - Brains: The Mind As Matter (3)

Exhibition - Brains: The Mind As Matter (4)

Exhibition - Brains: The Mind As Matter (5)

Exhibition - Brains: The Mind As Matter (6)

Charing Cross.

Lion's Head.

Leave a Reply

