On The Road with Mum and Dad.

Things you experience when spending two days with your parents (at IKEA and in the Netherlands, respectively):

  • My Dad suddenly urging Mum and me onwards in IKEA: “Quick, we have to leave this department!” – “What? Why?!” – “Because I’ve just set half of the egg timers and don’t want to get caught!”
  • My parents getting slightly nervous whenever I’m taking a bend: “You do realize that the car should stay on all four wheels, don’t you?!”
  • Dad buying my Mum a Kinder Surprise which she then shared with me while Dad assembled the contents – family teamwork as its best.
  • Having lunch in the Netherlands and being rather confused about the tiny amount of chips and salad accompanying the food; it took a timid question on my part to realize that the waitress is going to bring us more side dishes as soon as the bowls on the table are emptied. Needless to say that the poor girl had to replenish four times.
  • Dad giving the aforementioned girl a tip of 5 Euros – “She is pregnant, she needs the money!”
  • Dad buying the wrong water bottle and getting sugary lemonade instead of plain water. We emptied the bottle altogether – a problem shared is a problem halved.
Dinge, die man erlebt, wenn man mit seinen Eltern zwei Tage unterwegs ist (jeweils bei IKEA und in den Niederlanden):
  • Mein Papa treibt meine Mutter und mich plötzlich bei IKEA voran: “Schnell, wir müssen aus dieser Abteilung raus!” – “Was? Wieso?!” – “Weil ich gerade die Hälfte der Eieruhren gestellt habe und nicht erwischt werden will!”
  • Die Nervosität meiner Eltern bei jeder Kurve, die ich genommen habe: “Dir ist schon klar, dass das Auto in der Kurve auf allen vier Rädern bleiben sollte, oder?!”
  • Mein Papa kauft meiner Mutter ein Überraschungsei, das sie dann mit mir teilt, während Papa den Inhalt zusammenbaut – familiäre Gemeinschaftsarbeit, wie sie sein sollte.
  • Mittagessen in den Niederlanden – zu unserer Verwirrung gab es zum Essen nur minimale Portionen an Pommes und Salat. Erst die zaghafte Nachfrage meinerseits führte zur Klärung: Die Kellnerin bringt weitere Beilagen, sobald die Schüsseln auf dem Tisch leer sind. Ich muss wohl nicht extra erwähnen, dass das arme Mädchen viermal nachfüllen musste.
  • Papa gibt dem eben erwähnten Mädchen 5 Euro Trinkgeld – “Die ist schwanger, die braucht das Geld!”
  • Papa kauft die falsche Wasserflasche und kriegt eine zuckrige Limonade statt einfachem Wasser. Wir haben die Flasche dann zusammen geleert – geteiltes Leid ist halbes Leid.

Leave a Reply

