Mother and Spy.

I had a course in Duisburg this morning and met Detti in Essen afterwards. While we were strolling through the city centre, we walked past a church, and on the spur of the moment, I asked Detti if we should have a look inside. She wasn’t too impressed at first, but who can withstand my congeniality? Ehem. As we were entering the building, Detti called my attention to a sign at the door which read, “Quiet please!”. Detti’s response: “Tinks, are you actually capable of that?” It took us some minutes before we had calmed down enough to enter.

It turned out that the church is actually the Essen Cathedral, and it is really nice. It’s got a rather unusual, but very lovely crypt, and a relaxing cloister. Afterwards we went to some shops where I was either taken for Detti’s mother or an industrial spy – I am still not sure which one worries me more.

Ich hatte heute vormittag einen Kurs in Duisburg und habe danach Detti in Essen getroffen. Während wir durch die Essener Innenstadt spazierten, gingen wir an einer Kirche vorbei, und ich hab Detti spontan gefragt, ob wir mal reinschauen sollten. Sie war anfänglich nicht sehr begeistert, aber wer kann meinem Charme schon widerstehen? Ähem. Als wir das Gebäude betreten wollten, hat Detti mich auf ein Schild aufmerksam gemacht, auf dem “Bitte Ruhe!” stand. Detti’s Reaktion: “Bist Du dazu überhaupt fähig?!” Wir haben ein paar Minuten gebraucht, um uns soweit zu beruhigen, dass wir reingehen konnten.

Die Kirche entpuppte sich als das Essener Münster, und es ist wirklich schön. Es hat eine etwas ungewöhnliche, aber sehr sehenswerte Krypta, und einen entspannenden Kreuzgang. Danach gingen wir noch in einige Läden, in denen ich entweder für Detti’s Mutter oder für eine Industriespionin gehalten wurde – ich bin mir noch nicht sicher, was mich mehr beunruhigt.


2 thoughts on “Mother and Spy.

  1. Detti 9 October 2010 / 12:32 pm

    Ah, wunderbare Zusammenfassung eines wunderbaren Tages :-)
    Thanks again, Mom *lol*

    Like

    • Tinka 10 October 2010 / 12:54 am

      Immer wieder gerne, mein Kind. *g

      Like

Leave a Reply

